BRITAIN'S TOP RESTAURANTS

Yesterday The Sunday Times issued its annual list of the top 100 restaurants in Britain, compiled following contributions from 9,000 people submitting 80,000 brief reviews from visits to eating establishments over the last 12 months. For those of you that missed the listings, I have detailed below the top ten restaurants, their location, food style, signature dish and price per person for a three course dinner with half a bottle of wine, coffee, service and VAT.

1. Gidleigh Park, Chagford, Devon TQ138HH. Web: www.gidleigh.com.uk (Modern British) - Sig.Dish: Dartmoor Lamb with boulangere potato, fennel puree, tapenade jus. £135


2. Andrew Fairlie, Gleneagles Hotel, Auchterarder, Scotland, PH31NF Web: www.gleneagles.com.uk (Modern British) - Sig. Dish: Smoked lobster with warm lime and herb butter. £131

3. The Yorke Arms, Ramsgill-in-Nidderdale, Yorkshire HG35RL. Web: www.yorke-arms.co.uk
(Modern British) - Sig. Dish: Whitby crab, potage of shelfish, salt cod, tomato. £89

4. Restauarnt Nathan Outlaw, Rock Road, Rock, Cornwall PL276LA. Web: www.nathan-outlaw.co.uk(Fish and seafood) - Sig. Dish: Steamed crab with Porthilly sauce, asparagus and samfire. £123


5. Restaurant Martin Wishart,  54, The Shore, Edinburgh, EH66RA. Web: www.restaurantmartinwishart.co.uk (French) - Sig. Dish: Ceviche of halibut, mango and passionfruit. £97

6. Fraiche, 11 Rose Mount, Oxton, Cheshire, CH435SG. Web: www.restaurantfraiche.com.uk (Modern British) - Sig. Dish: Loin of venison, pickled grelot. £84

7. Le Manoir Aux Quat'Saisons, Church Road, Great Milton, Oxfordshire, OX447PD. Web: www.manoir.co.uk (Modern French) - Sig. Dish: Garden beetroot terrine, horseradish sorbet, buckler sorrel. £171


8. The Ledbury, 127, Ledbury Road, Notting Hill, London W112AQ. Web: www.theledbury.com.uk(Modern British) - Sig. Dish: Flame-grilled mackerel with pickled cucumber, Celtic mustard and shiso. £131

9. L'Enclume, Cavendish St., Cartmel, Cumbria, LA116PZ. Web: www.leclume.co.uk (Modern British) - Sig. Dish: Cod 'yolk', sage cream, radish, salt and vinegar. £118

10. Restaurant Sat Bains, Lenton Lane, Nottingham, NG72SA. Web: www.restaurantsatbains.com.uk(Modern British) - Sig. Dish: Duck eggs and texture peas. £109

London dominates the list, wth 51 of the top 100 establishments; Edinburgh has four, Birmingham three and the rest are scattered around the UK.

For my Midland readers, here are the top ten in the Midland Region:

1. Restaurant Sat Bains, Nottingham (10th in the top 100 see above)
2. Mr Underhill's, Ludlow, Shropshire (13th in the top 100). Web: www.mr-underhills.co.uk
3. Hambleton Hall, Hambleton, Rutland (20th). Web: www.hambletonhall.com.uk
4. Simpsons, Birmingham (28th). Web: www.simpsonsrestaurant.co.uk
5. Winteringham Fields, Winteringham, Lincolnshire (43rd). Web: www.winteringhamfields.co.uk
6. Purnells, Birmingham (56th). Web:  www.purnellsrestaurant.com.uk
7. La Becasse, Ludlow, Shropshire (89th). Web: www.labecasse.co.uk
8. Lasan, Birmingham (91st). Web: www.lasan.co.uk
9. Fischer's, Baslow Hall, Derbyshire. Web: www.fischers-baslowhall.co.uk
10. The George of Stamford, Lincolnshire. Web: www.georgehotelofstamford.com.uk


For a full listing of all 100 top restaurants see: www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/thefoodlist  

Comments

Popular posts